June 01, 2006

Please note: You are viewing an archived Bucknell University news story. It is possible that information found on this page has become outdated or inaccurate, and links and images contained within are not guaranteed to function correctly.

[X] Close this message.

LEWISBURG, Pa. — Several members of the Bucknell University faculty were honored with awards during the university's Commencement ceremonies May 21.

The honorees were Daniel P. Cavanagh, associate professor of biomedical and chemical engineering; Geoffrey Schneider, associate professor of economics; Maria A. Antonaccio, associate professor of religion; and David C. Schoepf, associate professor of physics.

Cavanagh received the Christian R. and Mary F. Lindback Award for Distinguished Teaching. Established in 1960, the award honors professors who make outstanding contributions towards the community, particularly through teaching. It is funded by the Lindback Foundation of Philadelphia, honoring a Bucknell trustee and honorary board chair.

With the Bucknell faculty since 1999, Cavanagh was named the William C. and Gertrude B. Emmitt Memorial Chair in Biomedical Engineering in 2002. He was cited for "the intellectual growth of his students and his lucid explanation of difficult material. His design of the undergraduate laboratory module in biomedical engineering is considered a national `best practice.' He also has developed a highly innovative `hybrid' teaching space that integrates both laboratory and lecture styles of instruction."

Schneider was awarded the Class of 1956 Lectureship, an award given for inspirational teaching. The recipient gives a lecture during the academic year.

With the university since 1995, Schneider "has sustained a record of superior and committed teaching in the fields of economic development and international economics. Known for his carefully crafted courses, he challenges his students intellectually. His Capstone course. `South Africa: Apartheid and After,' is a highly innovative seminar which explores South Africa's history through the disciplines of history, economics, film studies, poetry and literature."

Antonaccio and Schoepf each received the Presidential Award for Teaching Excellence. Created in 1998, the award enables the university to recognize the very high achievement attained by faculty members who demonstrate reputable integrity in the art of teaching.

Antonaccio, who joined the Bucknell faculty 1994, was named the National Endowment for the Humanities Chair in Humanities in 2002. Antonaccio was cited as "a teacher of great integrity and rigor. She teaches with obvious passion for her discipline, sets a high standard for her students, demanding quality work, deep engagement and an open-minded attitude toward unfamiliar world views and ideas."

Schoepf joined the Bucknell faculty in 1985. "Known for his ability to convey complex ideas simply, he is a careful and polished lecturer. Students laud him for his clear explanation. He is able to provide meaningful research opportunities in the field of physics for undergraduates. His deep concern for student learning is expressed in all his interactions and in his commitment to excellence in teaching."

In other awards, Anne Pusey, assistant professor of East Asian studies, and Zubin Mehta, who graduated with a bachelor of arts degree in economics, were honored with the Burma-Bucknell Award for Promoting Intercultural and International Understanding.

Pusey, who has taught East Asian Studies at Bucknell since 1994, was recognized for promoting intercultural understanding "not just on campus but within the greater Bucknell community." Pusey has been instrumental in providing summer seminars for local middle and high school teachers to learn about Chinese and Asian culture and has led seminar participants on study tours of China.

Mehta, an international student from India, came to Bucknell as a Fremont Scholar and was active as an intern in the International Student Services office. He also served an internship in the Admissions office and was president of the South Asian Student Association.

Retiring faculty who were recognized during Commencement ceremonies were David Cartwright, professor of mechanical engineering; William Lasansky, professor of art; John Peeler, professor of political science; Martin Sklar, professor of history; Gary Sojka, professor of biology; and P. Aarne Vesilind, professor of civil and environmental engineering.


Story posted June 1, 2006


Places I've Been

The following links are virtual breadcrumbs marking the 27 most recent pages you have visited in Bucknell.edu. If you want to remember a specific page forever click the pin in the top right corner and we will be sure not to replace it. Close this message.