Please note: You are viewing an archived Bucknell University news story. It is possible that information found on this page has become outdated or inaccurate, and links and images contained within are not guaranteed to function correctly.

[X] Close this message.

The rank of Presidential Professor was established by Bucknell in 1972. Appointed for a three-year term, Presidential Professors are entitled to additional support for scholarship and research. To date, 30 faculty members have earned the distinction.

Presidential Professors:

1972-1978: Harold Heine, chemistry

1973-1980: Doug Candland, psychology/animal behavior

1974-1980: Douglas Sturm, sociology and anthropology

1979-1983: Robert Brungraber, civil engineering

1979-1986: John Wheatcroft, English

1980-1986: Richard Henry, physics

1982-1988: Michael Payne, English

1987-1992: Joseph Fell, philosophy

1990-1992: Mary Hill, history/women's studies

1990-1992: Hans Veening, chemistry

1993-1995: David Cartwright, mechanical engineering

1993-1995: Steve Stamos, international relations

1993-1995: Robert Love Taylor, English

1996-1999: Jackson Hill, music

1996-1999: Marilyn Mumford, English

1996-1999: James Orbison, civil engineering

2001-2003: Jeff Evans, civil and environmental engineering

2001-2003: Pamela Gorkin, mathematics

2001-2003: John Peeler, political science

2004-2006:Maurice Aburdene, electrical engineering and computer science

2004-2006: Charles Clapp, chemistry

2004-2007: Martha Verbrugge, history

2007-2010: James Baish, mechanical and biomedical engineering

2007-2010: Manuel Delgado, Spanish

2007-2010: Jean Shackelford, economics

2010-2013: Janet Jones, classics

2010-2013: Karen Morin, geography

2010-2013: Ronald Ziemian, civil and environmental engineering

2013-2016: Maria Antonaccio, religion

2013-2016: Thomas Solomon, physics


Places I've Been

The following links are virtual breadcrumbs marking the 27 most recent pages you have visited in If you want to remember a specific page forever click the pin in the top right corner and we will be sure not to replace it. Close this message.